Weekend Wrap-Up

It was a fairly uneventful weekend kiddies.

Saturday was a complete washout though.

I had planned on starting my annual raking chores (75 bags of leaves each year!) but I somehow managed to pull a muscle on Friday, so I spent most of Saturday with a heating pad and a “Doctor Who on DVD” marathon.

Husbandji (my new name for Husband-san) went out and did some of it, which was a help, but only a drop in the bucket unfortunately. Hopefully this coming weekend I will be able to put a bigger dent into it!

When Husbandji wasn’t doing things around the house, he was dealing with his mother.

Readers of my old blogs will know exactly what I’m talking about, but, for my new readers let me give you the quick version:

Husbandji is a Mama’s Boy.

And his mother is the biggest pain in the ass this side of the Milky Way.

She’s the most self-absorbed, self-centered, stupid, woman that I have ever met.

And she expects her children to be at her beck and call for any little thing.

Husbandji talks to his mother at least three times a day. Every day.

More so if there’s something going on in the family.

And there’s always something going on in the family!!

The most recent issue?

Husbandji’s youngest brother is driving everyone crazy.

He’s in his mid-thirties. He’s married with a two year old son. He has his MBA, his CPA, and a good job.

But he is the biggest whiner that I have every met (aside from his mother, of course.).

He owns a nice home in a very nice town, but, it’s too much for his wife and he to take care of.

And instead of selling the house and buying a smaller home, or hiring someone to take care of cleaning the house or do yardwork, he will constantly call either Husbandji or his mother to ask them to help him out.

Husbandji would go whenever he could, but, hey! The Ashram needs upkeeping too!

And their mother (as much as I dislike her) is in her mid-seventies and yet some days she’s treated like a workhorse.

This past weekend the brother called and had the nerve to ask Husbandji to come and help him rake leaves! Meanwhile, we have our own leaf-raking issues. Husbandji told him that he couldn’t come over and the brother actually tried to make him feel guilty about it!

Husbandji finally had had enough and told his brother that he had his own home to take care of and he couldn’t be helping him every weekend, and if the house was too much for them (which it is) that maybe he should sell it!

So now they’re not talking and the mother (I have got to think of a new nickname for her! Any suggestions? Stupid Cow? Big Fat Stupid Cow? Monster-in-Law? I’m open to suggestions!) kept calling Husbandji to whine about the whole thing over and over and over!

So that was Saturday.

Sunday was slightly better.

I was feeling better, so I went out and did some raking.

It was just as well, as the phone kept ringing all day long.

Guess who?

Sunday afternoon, we watched Annie Get Your Gun. It was very entertaining, but, frankly, somewhat dated, and it’s just as well that Judy Garland dropped out of it, as I really couldn’t see her pulling the role off.

Sunday night was quiet.

And that’s because we lost power for two hours!

No idea what happened, but, the power was off for several streets around ( I took a quick drive to see!). And it came back on just in time for bed!

So that was my weekend. I hope that yours were better!

6 Comments

  1. Lemuel said,

    November 12, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    You’re back! Great! You left your bread crumbs at Ur-Spo’s and I followed you home. 🙂

  2. BentonQuest said,

    November 12, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    You’re Back! Yeah!!

  3. urspo said,

    November 12, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    oh but it is jolly good fun to read about the in laws; truth be told i ‘missed them’.

  4. Ganesha's girl said,

    November 13, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    So….the woman is difficult??

    *LOL*

    I’m gonna have to really research a great name for her and post it.

    I am SO glad you’re back!

  5. November 16, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    […] After Mommy left, Husbandji heard from his other brother “A”, whom I’ve mentioned before. […]

  6. January 25, 2008 at 10:16 am

    […] And as you will remember, he’s the one who always needs help with everything. […]


