My Darling In-Laws

Well, of course, nothing is ever simple.

They didn’t end up releasing Husbandji from the hospital until 8:30 last night.

About 5:30 yesterday afternoon he was still experiencing some pain from the surgery, so they gave him something for the pain, and it’s hospital policy that they won’t release someone, who’s due to be released, until at least an hour after they have been given any additional pain medication.

And of course it was a busy night on that floor of the hospital, so it actually was closer to three hours after he was given pain medication, that he was actually released.

I, being the spouse, was also stuck with the choreresponsible for keeping Husbandji’s family informed of his condition.

On Wednesday, after the doctor let me know that the operation went fine, I called Husbandji’s mother.

The first words out of her mouth after I told her the news were: “Did they cut him?!!!”

“Well, yes”, I replied. “That’s what surgery is all about you stupid bitch.”

“Oh. I thought that they were going to go through the belly button.”

I had no response to that. (Who would?!)

I also called Husbandji’s brother, “M”, and let him know and also asked him to call the rest of the family as I had had enough of dealing with them at that pointneglected to bring anyone else’s phone numbers with me.

Thursday night, when we realized that we probably wouldn’t be going home until late, I called Husbandji’s brother again, or at least I tried to.

Because his line was busy for a solid hour!

Guess who he had been talking to?

Dear, dear, mommy! (Note to self. I have GOT to think of a good name for Husbandji’s mother! I may come up with three or four and let you, my loyal readers, decide!)

So, I finally got through and let him know what was going on and ask him once again to call the rest of the family as otherwise if I had had to do it, we’d still be there .

This morning, of course, the phone rang off the hook.

First Mommy, then his brother “M”, then Mommy again, then his aunt, then Mommy again, etc, etc, etc….

Then Mommy HAD TO COME OVER to see her baby boy!!!

She stayed for coffee and several donuts and did what she always does.

Complain.

She complained about Husbandji’s brothers, about the people at the “senior center” (Mommy is 74) and just anything in general.

She did share one good thing though.

She’s started eating Activia Yogurt in order to improve her memory.

Except that, we told her, that isn’t what it does…

“Oh.” was her only reply.

She left shortly after that, as it was starting to get dark, and she has issues with driving after dark.

After Mommy left, Husbandji heard from his other brother “A”, whom I’ve mentioned before.

What started out as a call to see how Husbandji was doing, turned into a call where Husbandji was comforting “A” because he’s so stressed out lately!

Typical.

Well, that’s all for now kiddies. Watch soon for a contest to name Mommy!

8 Comments

  1. Maggie said,

    November 16, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    Ty!! I’m so pleased to see you back online again. I missed you so much with all the chronicles of your in-laws antics [I see they haven’t changed, especially mumsy] and reading your wonderful posts!! 🙂

    I hope that Husbandji will come out of this, no worse for the wear.
    But I am to understand that passing kidney stones for a male is quite painful. OUCH!!!!

    Prayers and Good Wishes for you and yours,

    Hugs and Kisses,
    Maggie

  2. urspo said,

    November 16, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    alas, i really enjoy hearing about the inlaws; perhaps from schaudenfreude
    how about calling the MIL ‘Lord Ashram’s Bane”. that sounds rather lofty.
    Tiamet?

    TigerYogiji replies: Tiamat!! I love it!! Wikipedia defines her as “a monsterous embodiment of primordial chaos”. Yes, I would say that described Husbandji’s mother to a “T”!! Ladies and Gentlmen, we have a winner! 😉

  3. Lemuel said,

    November 16, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    I hope Husbandji is coming along well.

    Your in-laws are always a hoot – to us at least.

  4. Debbi said,

    November 17, 2007 at 2:55 am

    I thought they were blasting the stones? I didn’t realize they were going in. I guess I should have read better. . I hope he’s feeling better.

  5. Coco said,

    November 17, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    I’m so glad to hear that Husbandji is doing better…
    hope the recovery is QUICK!!
    Yes, those meds DO help ; )

    I’m also glad to see the “old” you ; )

    I’ve missed your “Mumsy” and family (horror) tales ; )

    Blessings & Hugs

  6. Raybob said,

    November 17, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    What about “Mommyji” for the mother?

  7. Raybob said,

    November 17, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    Or Mominlawji?

  8. Catty Bitch said,

    November 19, 2007 at 11:19 am

    Or simply “Kali-ma”

    The mother image gone terribly wrong, to the point of destruction.

    Glad Husbandji is doing well. We lift you up here at the Corner.


