Struggling Back to Blogging

Well!

 Husbandji really did a number on the computer this time!

They had to reinstall Windows.

So, I spent a good deal of yesterday afternoon re-setting this and that, and complaining to dealing with idiot technicians tech support at our Internet provider.

And we’re still not 100% back up to speed.

ARGH!!!

And now it seems that we’re about to get 4 to 8 inches of snow, most of which will be falling as I drive into work tomorrow.

How can it get worse?

Oh yeah, I forgot. We’re spending New Year’s Eve with Tiamat…

9 Comments

  1. December 30, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    I had a similar blowout with my TabletPC two weeks ago. I bought a new printer (a HP Photosmart a616). The printer is really nice, but the driver absolutely sucks. The driver is so bloated that they had to ship it on a DVD because it’s over 700 Mb! So on Doug’s computer it took over 90 minutes to install. On my TabletPC it crashed and ate the operating system. So I had to do a full format/reinstall. The second time around the driver installed (again, a 90 minute ordeal). Why the heck does a printer need a driver so F—ing big?!

    Fortunately, Doug and I aren’t spending the holiday with anyone unpleasant. We’re just flat broke because both of us each had really expansive car repairs last week. Ugh!

  2. Debbi said,

    December 30, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    I feel your pain. When lightening hit mine. I had to reinstall EVERYTHING. What a nightmare. I thought I’d never get it get back up and running.

  3. Lemuel said,

    December 30, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    I could deal with the computer.
    I could handle the Internet.
    I’m okay with the snow.
    But from what you’ve told us, well, three out of four is a good score.

  4. Steven said,

    December 30, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    I had to laugh at what Lemuel said above, but I also feel your pain and hope things get rectified soon!

  5. Java said,

    December 30, 2007 at 8:07 pm

    Glad to see you back in the blog-pool, even if you aren’t fully up to speed. Isn’t love wonderful? You mess up and he still loves you. He messes up and you still love him. I said “love,” not “like.” 🙂

  6. Pink said,

    December 31, 2007 at 1:16 am

    Lol.

    Well, kick her out at midnight and 2008 will be much happier!

    😉

    Looking forward to the report!
    xx
    pinks

  7. patti_cake said,

    December 31, 2007 at 10:34 am

    I still don’t have my laptop issues resolved. Computer issues are such a PAIN. Argh. (I can’t believe you are spending New Years with Tiami – but should make for some interesting blogging!) *snicker*

  8. Greg said,

    December 31, 2007 at 10:43 am

    The important thing is that you’re back and blogging. And look on the bright side: New Years with Tiamat will give you a wonderful blog post!! Best wishes for 2008!!

  9. urspo said,

    January 1, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    i want to get a Mac this year and hopefully stop all this nonsense.


