Torchwood and Trading Spaces

Busy night of television viewing last night kiddies!

We had the season premiere of Torchwood AND the season premiere of Trading Spaces to watch!

Torchwood: The first episode “Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang” was fabulous! It reunited Capt. Jack with an old lover from his “Time Agent” days.

A male lover named “Capt. John” (brilliantly played by James Marsters (a.k.a. Spike from Buffy the Vampire Slayer!)).

I can only hope that the rest of the season is as good as this episode! As I’ve mentioned before, season one didn’t exactly blow my skirt up. There were three, maybe four episodes that I really enjoyed, the rest were too bloody and gory for my tastes.

Hopefully we’ll see less of that in season two…

Trading Spaces: After three dismal years without the “heart of the show”, Paige Davis, the idiots in charge at TLC finally came to their senses and brought Paige back!

It was enjoyable enough, although they’ve tweaked the concept of the show again. Instead of neighbors “trading spaces” and redoing rooms in each others houses, they’ll be doing episodes where people will be doing rooms in their ex spouse’s homes and situations similar to that.

Unfortunately, they’ve brought back as one of the designers the absolutely dreadful Hildi Santo-Tomas! Ack! The wall treatment that she did to one of the houses last night? Horrible!

Fortunately, they’ve also come up with another new twist. At the end of the show they give each of the homeowners a gift card to Home Depot (the show’s sponsor) for $500.00! Just in case they want to do some more “home improvement” like fixing whatever crap Hildi put up.

So, for the next several weeks at least, I know what we’ll be doing most Saturday nights!

11 Comments

  1. Debbi said,

    January 27, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED TORCHWOOD last night. I agree that there was too much gore in the first season and Jack was much to somber. I’ve read that this season he will be more like the Jack of Dr. Who. I hope so, I love the flirty, sexy and funny Jack.

    …oh God Hildi is back? isn’t she the one who did put pink feathers all over the walls of one bedroom? it looked like a whore house from hell. I would have thrown such a bitch fest over that. How the heck do you get all those feathers OFF of walls after they’ve been glued on? oh my.

  2. Ashley said,

    January 27, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    I watched both of those shows last night, too. I guess it’s all that’s new on t.v. these days! The time agent boyfriend on Torchwood is mighty cute!!

  3. Doug said,

    January 27, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    I LOVE Torchwood. I LOVED last season. I know that it is sometimes gory, but hey, I read mysteries so that doesn’t bother me. I just think the wriging if FABULOUS and I LOVE IANTO! And if he dates captain Jack I might squeal! I have been away at my mother’s so I have been quite silent. But I am back now. Hugs!

  4. Patti said,

    January 28, 2008 at 10:11 am

    I am not familiar with Torchwood (gawd I’m feeling out of touch here!) LOL My Mom is a HUGE fan of Trading Spaces.

  5. gregory said,

    January 28, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    A busy night of TV wathcing! I love an oxymoron!

  6. Greg said,

    January 28, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    I agree about bringing Paige back; good choice! But Hildi?! yechhh….

  7. January 29, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    Yupi Torchwood is the ultimate Doctor Who spinoff. It’s great having a action/scifi show with a bisexual hero.

  8. January 29, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    yuri = “Yup!” I typed this from my itty bitty blackjack keppad

  9. BentonQuest said,

    January 29, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    I too agree about Paige. I always wondered why they got rid of her in the first place! Hildi…well. She lives in Paris! Now, Doug, I would like him to design my room but I would not like to work with him.

    TigerYogiji replies: The story goes that Paige was canned due to a couple of reasons. 1) A “racy” cover that she did for TV Guide back when TS was really big. (She was dressed in only a sheet of wallpaper). 2) There were some rumors floating around that when she did an AIDS charity for Broadway, she wore a very skimpy outfit and supposedly would flash people! It was a somewhat skimpy outfit, but she stated that she never exposed herself!

    Three years later TLC got some new management, and she was invited back!

  10. Robguy said,

    January 30, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    I’ve only managed to catch 2 episodes of Torchwood and while I’m desperately trying to love the show… it’s an uphill battle.
    I know part of the challenge on Trading Spaces is to stay in budget – but I wish they would have a sidebar where the designer would say “if you didn’t want to do this ghetto, use …. and it will cost you $$$” Some of their ideas may look good initially, but you know they aren’t durable or practical in homes where people clean.

  11. Maggie said,

    February 1, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    To be truthful, I like Capt. Jack’s character in Dr. Who more than in Torchwood.
    BUT…. in the episode “Captain Jack Harkness”, I have to say…..that kiss was one of the most beautiful I have ever witnessed!!!

    It was pure love and the actors that portrayed it, made the blood in my veins feel like butter.
    It opened up my eyes on how beautiful a gay relationship can be and I thank the actors for doing this.


