Just When You Think That She Can’t Top Herself…

Sit down for this one kids, you are not going to believe it.

Or maybe you will. I still don’t!

Here’s the story:

Husbandji and I went to my parents last night for dinner.

Yesterday our area was experiencing some snow squalls and windy weather.

Somewhat of an annoyance, but it was certainly safe enough to go somewhere by car.

After a lovely evening with my family, we arrived home at about 8:45PM to find the following message on our answering machine:

Tiamat: Husbandji! It’s 8:30! It’s windy out!!

Which, in English, meant that Tiamat was asking Husbandji why he wasn’t home yet because it was so windy out and so late!!!

So, being the dutiful mama’s boy son that he is, he called her to let her know that he was home safe and sound.

And that, we thought, was that.

Until about ten minutes later when the phone rang.

This time it was my mother.

She was calling to check and see if we had gotten home alright, because Tiamat had called them about twenty minutes earlier, all in a panic, checking to see if we had left their house yet!!!!!

Can you believe that?!!!!!

Husbandji was mortified.

Husbandji is 44 years old, and his mother still treats him as though he were 5!!

And what’s worse is that Husbandji is already of the opinion that my family thinks that his mother is a nut (which they do) and this just added fuel to the fire!

He was not happy with his mother at all!

And today he is going to have a chat with her about it.

How I wish that I could be a fly on the wall for THAT conversation!

I’ll keep you all posted if I get any details!

10 Comments

  1. Lemuel said,

    February 11, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    Good grief!

  2. deweydjb said,

    February 11, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    I hope you stayed home from work today, I hear it might rain!

    TigerYogiji replies: Not to fear. Tiamat wouldn’t care if something were to happen to me, only to her darling son…

  3. Patti said,

    February 11, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    Bwaa haaaaa I would love to be a fly on the wall too! You HAVE to let us know how that goes. Oh how I heart heart heart tiamat stories!

  4. Greg said,

    February 11, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Yikes! All the drama! Good luck to Husbandji….

  5. Indigo said,

    February 11, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    I’ve got a friend named Joel whose mom basically never let him grow up. the uberfrau actually used to not let him drive to work on snowy days. And this is a grown man not a teen. Gee… I wonder why Joel can’t keep a job from year to year.

  6. Java said,

    February 11, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Aside from the wonderful blog fodder, is there any good reason the two of you are still living that close to Tiamat? From where I sit it is 500 miles to my mother’s house and aprox. 250 to his mother’s house. And we are considering a move farther away. This has helped the families give up their micromanaging and allowed us to make our own mistakes with no one else to blame. I feel like a grown-up.

    TigerYogiji replies: Apron strings will only stretch so far. He knows that she’s an idiot, but, she’s his mother. He feels responsible for her. I’m of the opinion that if Husbandji hadn’t been around all these years, that Tiamat would either be dead or in a nursing home.

  7. urspo said,

    February 11, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    your spouse has my empathy – poor sod; to be caught in the middle of this.

  8. dirkmancuso said,

    February 13, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Oh how I love me some Tiamet stories…

  9. Ashley said,

    February 17, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Misery loves company. Therefore, I love your posts about your MIL. I do, I do, I DO!! 🙂 It’s a selfish indulgence, I know, but I feel a real bond with you across the internets.. 🙂

  10. February 19, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    […] Already in an irritable mood for having to get up so early, I told her sarcastically that he was doing fine, but suggested that she give him a call herself since she already had their phone number!!! […]


