Breakfast with Tiamat and Other Fun-Filled Activities

Oh, what a fun-filled long weekend it was kids!

Saturday was relatively uneventful.

I did some chores in the morning while Husbandji went to worship at his mother’s ran some errands.

Saturday afternoon we watched a film from Netflix called “Don’t Knock the Twist!” (one of Husbandji’s picks.).

It wasn’t half bad. If you enjoy Rock N’ Roll from the early Sixties combined with sub-par acting that is.

The music was good, and there were several big musical stars from that era in the film (at least that was what Husbandji told me. I had never heard of half of them…), but the storyline was pretty lame. This must have been one of those films that they showed only at drive-ins…

Later that evening we had Chinese take-out, watched Torchwood, had red hot monkey sex and turned in early.

Sunday was an especially  aggravating fun-filled day.

We had to get up earlier than usual, as we had to attend a memorial mass that Tiamat was having said for Husbandji’s brother “P” who had passed away in 2002.

This is always a treat, as Tiamat really hams up her portrayal of the “grieving mother”, moaning and waving her rosary beads around in the air for dramatic effect.

And before you all think me to be horrible and cold-hearted, I know for a fact that this is an act, as she can turn it on and off like a switch when the mood takes her!

Case in point: As soon as the mass had ended, Tiamat turned to Husbandji and asked him where he was taking her for breakfast! (So much for the “grieving mother”…)

But the best part is coming up boys and girls!

Besides Tiamat, Husbandji and myself, Husbandji’s brothers “A” and “M” attended the mass as well. However, neither of their wives came, which put me in the exalted position of “most caring spouse” for the time being.

“A” joined us for breakfast at the local Friendly’s. “M” couldn’t come as he and his wife were still planning on going to their own church for Sunday service (which caused Tiamat to spew gallons of venom after he left, as she couldn’t understand why M would want to go to two services in one day(!) and also to bitch about M’s wife who, according to M, was too sick to come to the mass, but, apparently was just fine to go to her own church!).

During breakfast Tiamat asked me how my father was doing after his surgery.

Already in an irritable mood for having to get up so early, I told her sarcastically that he was doing fine, but suggested that she give him a call herself since she already had their phone number!!!

And that is when I found out how Husbandji handled his mother after that incident!

Husbandji apparently blew his top at her! Tiamat said that he was a maniac! (Oh how I wish that I had been a fly on the wall for that!)

Husbandji told her to stop exaggerating. He had been upset, but, only because she still treated them as though they were children.

“A” didn’t know anything about what happened so I filled him in. He agreed with his brother that Tiamat treated them like children.

Tiamat started getting defensive and what’s worse, she started shrieking back at them.

In the middle of the restaurant.

In the middle of the Sunday breakfast rush.

Can you imagine?!!!

We almost got thrown out of the restaurant!

Breakfast was finished in almost near silence.

Husbandji and A tried talking to her, but, she wouldn’t speak to them.

After breakfast we drove her back to her apartment, and as she was getting out of the car she said to Husbandji; “I guess it’s true. When you get to be my age, you can’t depend on your family. You can only depend of your friends!”

And with that, she slammed the door and stormed into her building.

Husbandji was furious. But, unbelievably, instead of chasing after her, he drove us home.

Feeling just a little bad about the whole thing, I told Husbandji that I was sorry if I had caused any of this.

His reply was that it wasn’t my fault in the least(!). His mother “pulls this shit” all of the time, and he was sick of it!

We spent the rest of the day at home relaxing.

And. The. Phone. Didn’t. Ring. One. Single. Time.

Part of me was elated.

Another part was scared.

What was going to happen with the “family unit” now?

I shouldn’t have gotten my hopes up.

First thing Monday morning they made up. 😦

I spent the rest of the day doing our income taxes, which, thanks to the discrimination that this country’s current government is perpetuating towards its gay and lesbian citizens, makes an already unpleasant task downright irritating!

Because Massachusetts recognizes Gay Marriage, we can file jointly.

Because the Federal government doesn’t, we have to each file as single.

But, you need a dollar figure from the federal income tax form to fill out the Massachusetts form.

So, while married straight people in Massachusetts only have to fill out two forms, we have to fill out four:

One “phantom” federal form, that never gets submitted, for the two of us filing jointly (in order to get that one figure!)

One Massachusetts form for the two of us filing jointly.

Two federal forms, for each of us filing as “single”.

Woo-Hoo!

And how did the rest of you spend your long weekends?!!

11 Comments

  1. Lemuel said,

    February 19, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    O man! I never gave a thought to that kind of tax complication. Crap! It is painful enough to do it once! My younger son went to college in MA and I must say that the MA income tax form is as much a bundle of fun (or more so) than the Federal one. He worked while going through school so we had to file for 5 years there.

    I also have known plenty of the Tiamat-type “grieving widows” who turn it on for the public eye. Moen should have such faucets that flow so freely and turn off so quickly!

  2. BentonQuest said,

    February 19, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Sounds like a great time!

    I just love hearing about the in-laws.

  3. Coco said,

    February 19, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Mother in law…YIKES!!
    Well the weekend is over… : )
    And family members have made up… : )

    Movies and Music?
    I recently saw Across the Universe…I LOVED IT!!

    Glad to hear that your father is doing well after surgery…
    Hope it was nothing too serious.

    Hugs & Blessings

  4. Ashley said,

    February 19, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    Ha!! C and I only take Mother to restaurants we don’t care to return to in the future (in case there is an outburst of any kind).

    Just a free tip from your favorite gal in Texas!!

    😉

  5. Debbi said,

    February 20, 2008 at 1:28 am

    Hmm, nothing fun like yours. I worked all weekend. Thursday through Monday at Kohls. OMG it was like Christmas again. We had all our marked down merch, slashed up to 80 percent off, then on top of that taking another 25% off. AND on top of that it was scratch card week. If you used a Kolhs charge or opened one, you received a scratch off for even more off. IT WAS INSANE!
    Hmm, two of our three housekeeping persons QUIT. Yep, it was that crazy and people were just crabby and getting on everyones nerves. One manager in general, who picked on those two people until they up and walked out.

  6. Indigo said,

    February 20, 2008 at 6:34 am

    it sounds like the showdown in the restaraunt would have made a good video, heh heh. Oh… I had heard that gay marriend couples’ tax returns were absolute nightmares. I guess Doug and I will find out next year if Civil Unions pass in Maryland this year!

  7. gregory said,

    February 20, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    I knew it was too good to be true!

  8. February 20, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Sorry about your Sunday, Bro…
    If it’s any consolation, mine wasn’t much better.
    At least you have husbandji… that’s something never to take advantage of.
    My guy & I aren’t seeing eye to eye lately. Par for the course here of late.

    We have a civil union from VT (2000), and we live in PA where nothing is recognized… If we went only 7 miles east to NJ right across the river – at least they would recognize us as a family.

    Here’s to a better weekend next…

    Peace

  9. dirkmancuso said,

    February 21, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    The tax thing sounds like a total pain in the a** to me. We’ll let child abusers file jointly, but a happily married gay couple? Heavens, no!

    And even though it’s stressful for you, I surely do love me some Tiamat stories…

  10. Patti said,

    February 22, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Oh lawks a massy such drama in Friendly’s!
    the tax this is pure bullshit. I hope one day you and Husbandji can file just the same as us straight (but never narrow!) couples.

  11. Indigo said,

    February 23, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Oh… I forgot to say…

    When people wave rosary beads around like some kind of talisman, it totally cracks me up! Ha ha ha ha!!

    🙂


