Drips, Drabs and the Usual Foolishness

Hello My Minions!

 Sorry that I haven’t been posting much. There just hasn’t been that much of interest to report around the Ashram.

Saturday was spent shoveling ourselves out from the latest storm (it wasn’t that bad, only about two or three inches…). Then we did indoor chores for the rest of the day, got take-out pizza for dinner and watched the latest Torchwood (which rocked!!).

Sunday we went to look at some cars for Husbandji, as his is on it’s last legs, and he needs a new one. He saw a couple that he liked, but, the dealership was closed, so he was going to follow up with them today.

We then went to the mall to buy some Easter stuff for the niece and nephews and tried, but failed, to use $75.00 worth of gift cards that have been gathering dust, at Pier 1 Imports.

Honestly, everything there is either nice, but, overpriced, or inexpensive, but, just plain ugly. We’ve had these gift cards for over two years now, and nothing has interested us enough to want to use them! Fortunately, Pier 1 doesn’t deduct any fees or other charges from the cards over time, so we just put them away again and will check back in another season or so…

After the mall we stopped at On The Border for dinner. Not our favorite restaurant, but again, we had a gift card!

Our meals were good, and due to some screw-up in the kitchen (which frankly, we weren’t even aware of) that delayed the serving of our meals, they offered each of us a complimentary dessert!

Husbandji had some sort of Apple Crisp dessert and I had the Dulce de Leche Cheesecake!

Three words about the cheesecake: To. Die. For!!!!

After that we went home and had some “mini-drama”, courtesy of Husbandji’s family.

Tiamat is turning 75 this year, and Husbandji’s brother “A” wants to have a big celebration with dinner at a fancy restaurant and all of the bells and whistles that goes along with those types of functions.

However, he doesn’t want to have the party for his mother’s sake. He wants to have it to show off to his cousin!!

Since their elder brother “P” died six years ago, “A” has gotten very chummy with his cousin “J”, who basically was born with a silver spoon in his mouth, so, as a result, J’s values have become A’s values.

Of course, A doesn’t take into account that while Husbandji and I could afford to chip in towards it, his other brother “M” could not!

So, it’s been downscaled to something similar to what M threw for his wife’s birthday party. And even though it’s A who wants to have this big party, it’s Husbandji who has to do all of the leg work to get it organized, as A “doesn’t have the time”!

This has been his stock reason for not doing things for as long as I have known him.

In so many ways, he’s just like his mother. Self-centered and self-absorbed.

Anyway, Husbandji found a couple of places that were within our price range and could do it on the day that we want to do it.

But that is where his involvment in the planning is ending.

He told A that A needed to call all of the family to find out who can come and let Husbandji know by TONIGHT!!!

I’ll believe THAT when I see it!

I’ll keep you posted if any further drama ensues, and of course, I will be reporting on the party itself!!

9 Comments

  1. Debbi said,

    March 3, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    LOVED Torchwood. But I’m loving this season so much better than the last anyhow.

    I hate big family functions like these. I’m so glad we don’t have to do them anymore with hubbys family since his mom passed. And my family is basically me and my kids now.

  2. Doug said,

    March 3, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Torchwood is pretty good so far. I am awaiting more Captain Jack and Ianto Kisses. I am glad Martha got to show up!

    I can’t wait to hear all about the party! I am sure it will be something else!

    I ordered this new thing from Yankee Candle that you plug into the wall and insert a litte scent disc into the player. It has five different scents and roates them so you can get a little smell of each. I always think of Yankee when I think of you! Someday I will get up there and we can hit the flagship store! But I always have online!

    TigerYogiji replies: Let me know when you’re coming and we’ll get together! 🙂

  3. Lemuel said,

    March 3, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Is there such a thing as bad cheesecake?

    I’m sure there is but I am willing to sacrifice myself to the cause of testing each and every one.

  4. AZ said,

    March 3, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    Have you ever watched Heroes and seen the guy that plays the part of Mohinder Suresh? Google him. His name is Sendhil Ramamurthy.Purrrrrrrr.

    TigerYogiji replies: I shall have to check him out! One can never have enough, purses, shoes or Houseboys… 😉

  5. Indigo said,

    March 3, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    The last few episodes of Torchwood have been WAY too triggering for me to watch (what with the Owen being an Undead and all). Actually, it’s his psychology that’s hard to watch.

    Now… as far as cars go… lemme tell ya: My Civic Hybrid has been totally awesome. I’ve had it 5.5 years and 130,000 miles with only a handful of trivial repairs.

    Tiamat will probably live to be 150. Aaaiieeeeee!!!!

    TigerYogiji replies: Um…did you just give away a plot spoiler about Owen? 😦

  6. laurie said,

    March 3, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    After years of stopping and very little shopping at Pier 1 I finally found a bargain that I loved. Well three actually; pillows and they are to die for, seriously. They were 90% off on clearance and I got all three for $9.00. Score!

    Hugs,
    Laurie

  7. laurie said,

    March 3, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    And by the way…after years of driving Toyota’s, my brother, after meticulous research as is his way, bought a Mazda 3 and he LOVES it! He is getting 37 miles to the gallon and it drives like a sports car. Very nice!!

    More hugs,
    Laurie

  8. Urspo said,

    March 4, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    perhaps buying a used car or new legs at pier 1 for Tiamet would take care of all you troubles?

  9. Patti said,

    March 5, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Oh boy I smell some good family drama cooking up. Sorry – didn’t mean to sound, er, so excited there!


