Birthday Party Update

Hello Kiddies!

Most of Saturday was spent in preparing for Night of a Thousand IdiotsTiamat’s Birthday party that evening.

Which meant that every inch of an already spotless house had to be re-cleaned as though we were expecting a visit from the Inspector General. (Which, in a sense, we were…)

And on top of it all, Husbandji started coming down with a head cold.

When I suggested that we reschedule it, he wouldn’t hear of it. (Even when he’s sick, Mommy still comes first!)

Of course, Husbandji had to go pick her up as well. Heaven forbid that one of his brothers do it! So, while he was out getting her, I played host to the rest of the family as they arrived for the festivities.

We chatted and caught up while we waited for the arrival of the Queen of the DamnedTiamat. Shortly thereafter, she arrived.

Well!

I don’t know what to make of this, boys and girls.

Because, believe it or not, Tiamat was actually pretty well behaved for the evening.

Now don’t get me wrong. There were still a few annoying instances.

Just not nearly the number that I have grown accustomed to!

Case in point. When Husbandji arrived with Tiamat, I went out to help him bring in the pizzas that we had ordered for the party. (He had picked these up on his way back from his mother’s.)

I mentioned that everyone had already arrived.

Tiamat said “Everyone’s already here?”

I replied: “Yes. We told people to come at 6, and it’s 6:30.” (Apparently she couldn’t wrap her mind around the idea that people might come to a party on time!)

The rest of the evening was relatively quiet! (I was starting to wonder if some family members had been replaced by pod-people!)

Never fear, dear readers! Tiamat did manage to come through with one good story!

Apparently, there is a thief in her community.

A very honest thief though!

She happened to notice that three of the four screws that hold the vanity plate on her car were suddenly rusty.

Which led her to believe that someone actually unscrewed three of her “good screws” and replaced them with rusty ones!!!!!

And the reason that she knows that they were stolen, is that she paid $1.25 for each of the screws, so she knows that they wouldn’t rust!

My response on hearing this story?

“Well, there’s a screw loose somewhere…”.

So, other than this and a few minor annoyances, it was the most normal party that I have ever attended with this family.

Which has me worried.

Because this means that either Tiamat is finally maturing in her old age, or, and I find this to be a scary thought, I am starting to think that all of this foolishness and mayhem is normal!

Pray for me kiddies…..pray for me…….

9 Comments

  1. Patti said,

    March 31, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    I believe you are finally accepting husbandji’s family as “normal”. Tee Hee! I LOVE the screw loose comment. Love it.

  2. dirkmancuso said,

    March 31, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    I think Tiamet’s claims demand sort sort of follow-up.

    Perhaps a late night stake-out for you and Tiamat — just you two sipping cocoa and bonding as you await the thief’s return to snatch that last rust-free screw…?

    TigerYogiji replies: ACK!!

  3. Stephen said,

    March 31, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    “Well, there’s a screw loose somewhere…”.

    That is CLASSIC! If I had been in the room, I would have done a spit take right then and there!!!

  4. Stephen said,

    March 31, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    “Well, there’s a screw loose somewhere…”.

    That is CLASSIC! If I had been in the room, I would have done a spit take right then and there!!!

  5. Indigo said,

    March 31, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    “Because this means that either Tiamat is finally maturing in her old age, or, and I find this to be a scary thought, I am starting to think that all of this foolishness and mayhem is normal!”

    —> either that or Tiamat’s non-hostile behavior is a precursor of Alzheimer’s Disease, har har.

  6. urspo said,

    March 31, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    perhaps she is merely trying to confuse you to throw you off prior to her next major pounce.
    it could happen.

  7. Coco said,

    March 31, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    normal?! oh no, no, no, that can’t be it!!
    maybe she took some new meds…

    well, i’m glad that the party was a success…
    and that we got our “tiamat” story. : )

    hugs & blessings

  8. Debbi said,

    April 1, 2008 at 2:15 am

    Do you have the spare bedroom ready? cause you know good and well, she is gonna to think she is spending her last years with husbandj. lol. Good luck with that one hon.

    TigerYogiji replies: Oh no. THAT is NOT going to happen! Trust me!!!

  9. YNAGER '65 said,

    April 1, 2008 at 7:45 am

    I think she is trying to cornfuse you, and to make you think they ARE Pod-People. That way you will keep thinking it which inturn will drive you nuts, and be hauled away…..

    Then she will have Husbandji all to herself!


