Red Letter Day

I meant to post this video when the news was announced that California had legalized Gay Marriage.

It’s still relevant, as there as those in that state, blinded by ignorance and religious idiocy, who are trying to prevent what should be a fundamental human freedom from taking effect.

My hope and prayer is that they wake the fuck up and smell the coffee!

Our fight is no different from the fight that took place in the Sixties for basic human rights.

Regardless of the outcome, in their heart of hearts, the bigots and fundamentalists know that their days are numbered.

And it scares the life out of them.

Fifty years from now, people will look back and wonder what the fuss was all about…

6 Comments

  1. Indigo said,

    May 24, 2008 at 11:48 am

    What I think is that there is a difference between true spirituality and what I call “Christian Sociopathology”. The worship of Deity in almost every religion involves love of god/goddess and love of each other. And the two are interdependant. You can’t say you love god/goddess and hate other people (and vice versa). Christian Sociopathology is a degenerate believe that allows the person to think they are actually serving and honoring god/goddess by hating other people.

    I’ve met a few real Christians in my life, but not many. Most, regrettably are of the diseased mindset that value hate over love.

  2. manic mo said,

    May 24, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    My favorite Pet Shop Boys song.

    And a favorite topic.

    Of course, now that I’m single, I can look forward to a big gay wedding now, eh? 🙂

    I hope you’re right, that in 50 years, we’ll wonder what the fuss was all about.

  3. Lemuel said,

    May 24, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    I think you are correct, but I also think that we will see a lot of pain yet before we come to birth.

  4. magentaraven said,

    May 25, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    LOVE that song!!!

  5. urspo said,

    May 26, 2008 at 12:23 am

    we must be careful though; scared people tend to do drastic things, and it is an election year too. I hope enough CA people marry in time to cause a possible reversal to be a major legal headache for the state.

  6. Patti said,

    May 27, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    “Fifty years from now, people will look back and wonder what the fuss was all about…”

    We can only hope!~


