Help Me, My Minions!

I think that I mentioned previously that I was in the market for a new (used) car.

Husbandji’s brother “M” has been helping me in my search, as he enjoys researching this sort of thing.

I was originally considering a Nissan Sentra, as Husbandji recently bought one, and I like it, but M wants me to consider a couple of Chrysler PT Cruisers that he’s found at very good prices.

I did some research on some car sites and they seem like good cars.

Does anyone have any personal experience with this car?

Please let me know! Thanks!

12 Comments

  1. Mel said,

    July 15, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    I have no direct experience of them, but I’m fairly certain their fuel economy is abysmal. I also seem to recall a caller to “Car Talk” recently who was getting rid of hers which she had for her business. I don’t think fuel economy was the issue, as she was looking for a similarly distinctive look, so I would wonder about reliability

  2. Greg said,

    July 15, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    I can’t speak to the economy of the Cruiser, but Mom and Dad have had one since they were first introduced, which I have occasionally driven and that experience was always enjoyable. I don’t recall them having had any troubles with it, either.

    Good luck in your search. So, M has time for you all now?

  3. Steven said,

    July 15, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    The others beat me to it. But my first thought was what’s its gas mileage like? Since Husband has a Sentra, you may want to think of getting one that is perhaps larger if you forsee any need for hauling large ticket items from Best Buy or Homo Depot. 🙂

  4. Lemuel said,

    July 15, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    My one SIL and husband each have one (actually they are on their “seconds”). They like them very much. Two gay bear friends (a couple) each have one and like them also. I have ridden in them and I would say they are ok, although I do not care for the look and, fwiw, would not get one myself.

  5. Maggie said,

    July 15, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    My only question would be,”How much do you trust, husbandji’s brother “M””s opinion”?
    You get what you pay for TY. These vehicles are cheap, which makes me wonder.
    I have never known an owner, so I’m only going by my intution, which says no. Sorry Ty!! 😦

    PS I have only seen older ones on the road, no new ones. If that makes a difference.

  6. AZ said,

    July 16, 2008 at 5:19 am

    My best girlfriend used to have one and she was ho hum about it. I was embarrassed to be seen riding in it because I thought it was so hideously ugly. It’s a granny car. IMHO

  7. doug said,

    July 16, 2008 at 7:13 am

    I don’t know. but it looks adorable! I know, not helping!

  8. Patti said,

    July 16, 2008 at 9:05 am

    I am not wild about the PT Cruisers…. how about a Nissa Xterra? Not sure what they do on gas mileage.
    If I get a new car i’m getting a Dodge Charger. To hell with practicality I want to look FABULOUS driving down the road!

  9. Robguy said,

    July 18, 2008 at 6:23 am

    I was looking at the Yaris before deciding to go carless.

  10. javabear said,

    July 19, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Not that I’m actually going to get one, but I think it would be super fun to have a PT Cruiser in that deep purple color. It looks so much like an eggplant. Eggplants, while tasting totally disgusting, are a very beautiful fruit. Which has nothing to do with PT Cruisers.

  11. urspo said,

    July 22, 2008 at 12:35 am

    ask mumsy and do the opposite what she tells you.

    TigerYogiji replies: I always do…

  12. Ultra Dave said,

    November 12, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    The Cruiser always reminded me of a hurst for little people.


