Doctor Who “Season Four” Finale

Well!

We finally got around to watching the season finale of Doctor Who! (I’d had to tape it as we were going to Husbandji’s brother A’s house for a picnic (more on that later in the week.).

Words fail me.

Utterly, utterly, fabulous!

Russell T Davies (the head writer of the series since it’s relaunch, and who has just stepped down from the post to go on to other projects) has written one Hell of an ending!

I won’t spoil the ending for anyone else who might not have had a chance to see it yet, but, it certainly tied up every single loose end and, as I mentioned to Husbandji, it could certainly have “held up” as the SERIES FINALE and not just the season finale, if the “Powers That Be” at the BBC had chosen to end the series!

Thankfully, it was only the season finale, although with David Tennant committed to doing “Hamlet” with the Royal Shakespeare Company throughout 2009, we will only be seeing three (possibly four) Doctor Who “specials” during that period with a return to the normal series schedule in 2010. (But will David Tennant still be The Doctor in 2010? Only “Time” will tell…)

One final thought. I was disappointed that there wasn’t a “teaser” at the end of the episode for the “2008 Christmas Special”. However, thanks to the Internet, I did find some information on it here.

Now, I just have to wait for Season Four to come out on DVD, so that I can experience it all over again! Oh, the pain of waiting! The pain!!!

5 Comments

  1. doug said,

    August 3, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    You didn’t tape the series while it was one so you could rewatch it? I am sad that a certain person will not be with the doctor anymore and I was kind of bummed about what happened. I did like seeing the “Doctor’s army” and having everybody come back for that. Though, I am quite sick of Daleks. Now that they have defeated an entire Dalek empire, how many more times is he going to have to run into them? Can we have a dalek free season at least once? I am sure there are plenty of other threats to defeat.

    I wonder if the rumor is true and that Martha is going to join Torchwood? That would be sweet!

    TigerYogiji replies: Oh Sweetie! It wouldn’t be Doctor Who without the Daleks! And I wouldn’t be surprised if both Martha and Mickey ended up joining Torchwood!

  2. Sim said,

    August 3, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    Yay for no spoilers!!!

    I haven’t watched any of it. At all. Isn’t that will power? I figured that I would have a few weeks before sproglet to enjoy Dr Who series 4 and Torchwood series 2 in one hit. All I would need to make it perfect is my non-alcholic beer and chocolates 🙂

  3. urspo said,

    August 3, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    you must have patience, grasshopper.

  4. The Brian said,

    August 6, 2008 at 9:39 am

    What a great season ender. I hate that we have to wait so long for the next installments.

  5. Mo said,

    August 6, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    I agree – utterly FABULOUS.
    It would have made a great series ender, but I too am so glad there will be MORE (eventually…)
    And I agree – l am hoping that Martha and Mickey go to Torchwood to replace the dearly departed Owen & Tosh.
    I wold have like to have seen more Gwen & Ianto in the 2nd half of the 2-parter, but I’m very happy with what they presented.
    How they shall replace Russel T Davies, though, that’s a toughie.


