Denton, U.S.A.!!!

I’m sure that most of my Minions have seen, or at least heard of The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

But, how many of you knew that there was a sequel?

Way back in 1981, Richard O’Brien (the creator of RHPS and the actor who played Riff Raff in the film) created a faaaabulous “sort of” sequel called Shock Treatment!

It starred several of the actors from the original film, however, only two of the original characters were portrayed in it.

Brad Majors (Asshole!!!) and his fiance’-now-wife, Janet Weiss (WEIIIIS!!!).

Unfortunately, it never had the same commercial success as RHPS, nor did it achieve the “cult status” that RHPS came to enjoy, but it is still an interesting film!

It is available on Netflix, and I’ve even seen it on late night cable television from time to time.

Here’s the opening number from the film! Enjoy!!

6 Comments

  1. Indigo said,

    August 28, 2008 at 8:24 am

    I would have never guessed that there had been a sequel to RHPS. Tim Curry was awesome in the original.

  2. doug said,

    August 28, 2008 at 9:46 am

    I thought I had seen that. I knew about it, but looking at the video, I am not sure I have seen it. I think I will have to put it on my Netflix! Thank you for the clip!

  3. August 29, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Oh yes! I saw it, lo these many years ago! A strange little movie. It lacks the barely-existant level of unity RHPS was able to achieve.

    It’s frivolous and fun.

  4. Patti said,

    August 29, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    I never knew that…. but then again i’m finding out there are a LOT of things I don’t know. Who knew?!

  5. Greg said,

    August 29, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Yay, Denton: Home of Happiness.

    This is bizarre. I never heard of this before. So, what’s the premise? Are Brad and Janet totally twisted thanks to their time at the Castle? Interesting…

  6. Ultra Dave said,

    November 12, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    I love the song “Me, Me, Me’ and the singer looked fabuous in that outfit! I can’t believe I just wrote fabulous! I never use that word.


