Frustration and Aggrevation

The Animal Control department in this city is useless.

It has been four days since the attack and they STILL have not been able to contact the owners of those beasts to determine if they are up to date on their shots, nor have they collected the animals for quarantine.

I have just left ANOTHER message on their answering machine to find out what my options are at this point.

And, in what I can only describe as “what a small world”, I found out that one of the other manager’s in my department has a sister who lives on the street where I was attacked and they put me in touch with another neighbor on that street who is organizing information on the several attacks that have occurred in order to go to a city hearing to discuss these animals.

I have given her all of my information and she promises to keep me informed.

Meanwhile, I have been walking Teddyji closer to home, but, I am still constantly scanning all around me and paying attention to how Teddyji is behaving (as he KNEW the dogs were in the area long before we ever saw them! He was pulling on the leash like crazy that day trying to follow their scent!).

That’s all I have for now. I just want to thank everyone for their wonderful, supportive, comments on this blog and the emails that I have received. It’s truly comforting to know how many good people there are in the world and how this miracle called the World Wide Web has brought us all together!

7 Comments

  1. javabear said,

    October 3, 2008 at 10:37 am

    This has got to be the most frustrating and frightening thing! I am so sorry you have to go through this. Animal control hasn’t even picked these dogs up yet?? That’s unconscionable.

    I really hope this situation is resolved soon. I have a better awareness today of how unsettled you are about the whole thing. (((((Hugs)))))

  2. Patti said,

    October 3, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Don’t give up – KEEP pursuing. Animal Control has got to ascertain their shots status and if they have to be quarantined. Our A/C in our city is useless too. Bastards.

  3. Lemuel said,

    October 3, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Yes, do not let this die! If your local animal control officers will not move on it, perhaps there is another more “agressive” group who will pursue it.

    Learn Teddyji signals. It is amazing what animals can detect. It takes a while but an “owner” soon learns to pay attention to the alerts that the dog is giving.

    Sadly, in our local area and on a somewhat related theme, less than a mile from my place of work, a kennel was raided and shut down. They found 60+ carcasses of abused animals and 50+ abused animals still alive. The owner hada history of over 20 years of citations.

  4. the hobbit said,

    October 3, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    The trouble with justice is that it is slowed by the unjust.

  5. urspo said,

    October 5, 2008 at 3:24 am

    and don’t forget – don’t let fear rule you or make you back down in your own neighborhood.

  6. Steven said,

    October 6, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Despite their slow response to this, I hope the best comes of this situation and you’re able to put it behind you. (((((Tiger)))))

  7. mrpeenee said,

    October 7, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    This is horrible. Go to your City Council and let them know that the Animal Control people are sitting on their thumbs while known dangerous animals are loose.


