Update on the Pit Bulls

I just had a call from Animal Control.

The owners of those dogs apparently have fulfilled all of the conditions that the city required in order to get them back. The animals are being neutered today, and will be back with their owners by tomorrow.

To say that I am not happy about this is an understatement.

The only good thing about this is that if the owners are this serious about getting their dogs back, then they will probably be vigilant about keeping the dogs in their kennel when they are outside.

And I did confirm with Animal Control that if the dogs get loose even one time, that Animal Control will come and get them and have them euthanized.

And that will be that.

Hardly comforting news, but, it’s better than nothing…

So I will be calling around the neighborhood tonight to tell everyone the news.

Woo-Hoo…

8 Comments

  1. Patti said,

    November 18, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Yes at least you all will be vigilant and I sincerely hope those people keep their pets where they belong.

    That bastard, excuse me, next door better be glad he’s still breathing but if he ever gets out and in my yard again he won’t be. This southern belle can fire a shotgun.

  2. Lemuel said,

    November 18, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    It is unfortunate that the responsibility for being vigilant falls to you and to your neighbors so that you remain safe. I hope that all goes well.

  3. javabear said,

    November 18, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    Oh, my stars! I’m surprised these people met all the requirements. If indeed they did, then the dogs should be able to stay contained. I’m kind of shocked, actually. Gosh, I hope this works out OK.

  4. the hobbit said,

    November 18, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Maybe everything worked out for the best? The animals don’t have to be put down and you and Teddyji will be safe now?

    But yes. Keep an eye.

  5. urspo said,

    November 18, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    I concur; watch your pooch!

  6. Cincy Diva said,

    November 19, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Perhaps the neutering will help calm the beasties down a bit. A lot of animals get a bit lazy after having their hoo-haws clipped. You and Teddy still be careful!

  7. Steven said,

    November 19, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    I’ll let the dogs loose out of the kennel tomorrow at 10:00 AM. Call Animal Control around 10:05. That should give me enough time to get out of there before AC shows up to “take care of them.” 😉

  8. mrpeenee said,

    November 22, 2008 at 1:58 am

    It’s amazing that the owners were able to come up with all the cash and effort to deal with the problem now, but couldn’t be bothered before.


