Drips and Drabs

Well, this cold hit me pretty hard as of Thursday night.

So hard that I called in sick on Friday and have done nothing until this morning.

Thank the Gods that UPS dropped this off Thursday night as well!!

So I have been awash in Time-Lordy Goodness for the last two days!!

In other news, we participate in a “Secret Santa Gift Exchange” with both families every year, and for Husbandji’s side we decided to decrease the dollar amount spent on the gifts, as the economy was hitting some family members harder than others.

Regardless, it came as no surprise to me at all, when we heard from Husbandji’s brother “M”, that they had decided that, even with the dollar amount decrease, they would not be participating in it this year.

What WAS a complete surprise, was that they were planning on celebrating IW’s (Idiot Wife’s) birthday at a local pizza parlor AGAIN this year at their expense, in early December!!

These people are basically living at the poverty level. They can’t afford to participate in a family tradition, which given their financial situation, I can understand.

But they can afford to spend money that they don’t have on a pizza party, and it isn’t even a landmark birthday!!

She’s turning 61!!!!!

The members of the family who have heard about this are just shaking their heads.

It’s just another example of M showing to his side of the family, that his own little “nuclear family” consisting of himself, IW and her side of the family, is more important to him than his own brothers and mother.

I told Husbandji that I was surprised that we were even being invited to the birthday party, but, Husbandji assumes that the reason that we are, is so that IW will receive more presents!

Unbelievable.

Husbandji also had to come to Tiamat’s rescue last night over a matter of dire importance.

Tiamat had been babysitting The Darling Nephew at her house yesterday, and the little imp has somehow managed to screw up her television!!

And since television is as necessary to Tiamat as air, Husbandji had to rush right over to fix it!

Later that evening, after he had gotten home, I could hear him on the phone with someone.

When I asked him who he was talking to, he replied “My mother”.

I said to him, “Your mother, whom you just SAW an hour ago?!”.

He said, “Yeah, I was calling to say Good-Night to her before she went to bed”.

Let’s all say it together boys and girls:

MAMA’S BOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That’s all I have for now kids!

But this Thanksgiving should provide me with plenty of tales to tell, as we are eating with Husbandji’s family this year, and as always, Tiamat will be in attendance!!

8 Comments

  1. javabear said,

    November 23, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Your family stories remind me how thankful I am to live so far from my family and his family. IMHO, for my peace anyway, there should be at least half a day’s drive between me and the families. I love them, but from afar.

    Once my kids get out on their own, though, I wonder if I’ll feel the same about them…

  2. Lemuel said,

    November 23, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    OOOH! Tiamat stories! They always make for good reading.
    I’m just shaing my head about the pizza party. There are ceratinly ways in which they can celebrate well with very little cost – and just as much fun.

  3. urspo said,

    November 23, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    tut tut
    you should have asked him a few logical questions when you were dating him, and now it is too late.

    Still, I rather enjoy the in-law stories.

  4. Steven said,

    November 24, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Get well in time for the turkey tradition and may you have a wonderful time despite some of the company woes. I think M and IW lesson will be learning a lesson the hard way this year. 😐

  5. mrpeenee said,

    November 24, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    I love to read about your inlaws, they make mine seem more bearable. Actually transcontinental distance is the only thing that makes them bearable, but still….

  6. Patti said,

    November 24, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    I’m married to a Mamma’s Boy too so I feel your pain.

    Ooh I can’t wait i’ve been jonesing for a good Tiamat story and IW just doesn’t quite measure up!

    TigerYogiji replies: What’s funny is that Husbandji can’t stand the woman, and yet, in so very many ways, she’s just like Tiamat!!! I’m the only one who can see it apparently! 🙂

  7. Doug said,

    November 24, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I would NOT go to the pizza party. And I would NOT get a present. Tell them that your being there is the only present they need!

    TigerYogiji replies: I’m leaving that decision to Husbandji. Besides, if I don’t go, how can I write a fabulous posting about their atrocius behaviour?!!! 😉

  8. Pua said,

    November 26, 2008 at 10:02 am

    What would we do if we didn’t have our “outlaws” to talk about. Especially after family gatherings. Most of the time, it’s like an accident that you can’t turn your head away from. But then you walk away with such irritatingly, agitatingly good stuff. If anything, my husband’s family makes me think how fortunate I am to have a) gotten the best sibling in the family for myself, and b) gotten the best sibling in the family for myself. Ha! Happy Thanksgiving!


