More “Freakazoid Dog Ju-Ju” (As AZ So Aptly Put it!)

For the last two days there has been a stray dog roaming around the neighborhood.

I first encountered him when I took Teddyji out for his evening walk on Monday.

We had just walked down our driveway and stopped at the next door neighbor’s mailbox for Teddyji to pee on to admire the mailbox’s design, when I happen to look up to see this dog sitting not ten feet away from us!

He (or she) was just sitting there. He wasn’t being aggressive or anything and seemed just content to stare at Teddyji, but, it gave me enough of a start to pick up Teddyji and march right back into the Ashram!

I told Husbandj about it and let Teddyji out in the backyard (which is fenced in).

“What is the deal with all of these dogs all of a sudden?!!!” I said to Husbandji.

He was out there again the next morning, so once again Teddyji was let out in the back yard.

After Teddyji was back in the house, I went back outside to see if I could get the dog to come to me, as I could see that he was wearing a collar, and as I had mentioned before, he wasn’t being agressive or anything.

He wouldn’t come when I called to him, and I knew better than to try to corner him, so I went back inside and called my friends at Animal Control. The person that I spoke with said that they would call the officer on duty. I was home for the next two hours and as far as I knew they never came.

The dog was gone when I went to work, but, I didn’t think for a moment that Animal Control had come and picked him up.

And sure enough, when I came home that evening, I saw him roaming the neighborhood!

By this time I was convinced that he was lost, but, I didn’t know what else to do!

Calling Animal Control didn’t seem to do any good, so I tried to go out again to see if the dog would come to me.

Only this time the dog was nowhere in sight.

He wasn’t anywhere last night when I walked Teddyji or this morning either.

So either Animal Control did come by and get him, or he found his way home on his own.

Or he’s still out there somewhere.

I’ll keep you posted if I see him again.

And in the meantime, I’m sending out a prayer to Lord Anpu to see if I can get rid of this dog juju!!

7 Comments

  1. Lemuel said,

    November 26, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    I can’t help but wonder that perhaps this new stray dog was dropped off in your neighborhodd by someone who can no longer afford to keep him/her.

  2. Debbi said,

    November 26, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    Or perhaps this new dog is Teddys new gaurdian type dog. Sent to keep an eye on Teddy from those other dogs. We can hope anyhow.

    We have a new HUGE orange cat in one of our barns He’s not living out there, just visiting. He comes and go’s. But he’s huge. I swear he’s the size of a small dog. He just sorta tips his head at me when he sees me. Howdy mame. And keeps walking. lol. not one bit afraid. I bet he weighs every bit of twenty pounds and he’s not fat.

  3. AZ said,

    November 26, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Not to belittle my juju comment of course…but what if Dog is your spirit guide?

  4. AZ said,

    November 26, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Owl is mine, BTW 🙂

  5. Ultra Dave said,

    November 26, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    I hope the poor thing wasn’t abandoned. That makes me sad when I see an animal in distress and doesn’t know who to trust. I hope he is somewhere he is safe and loved. I hope y’all have a great Thanksgiving!

  6. javabear said,

    November 27, 2008 at 1:24 am

    Hmmm. Somewhat disturbing. At least he wasn’t aggressive.

  7. Cincy Diva said,

    November 28, 2008 at 10:16 am

    Poor thing sounds lost…I hope he found his way home.


