A Lesson to Live By

Husbandji has a manager who is a pip.

She is constantly sending out emails with grammatical and spelling errors, and saying things in public that are not appropriate.

Case in point:

She recently held a staff meeting and started the meeting with an inspirational story:

“There once was a woman who woke up one morning, looked in the mirror, and noticed she had only three hairs on her head. “Well,” she said, “I think I’ll braid my hair today.” So she did and she had a wonderful day.

The next day she woke up, looked in the mirror and saw that she had only two hairs on her head. “H-M-M, ” she said, “I think I’ll part my hair down the middle today.” So she did and she had a grand day.

The next day she woke up, looked in the mirror and noticed that she had only one hair on her head. “Well,” she said, “Today I’m going to wear my hair in a pony tail.” So she did and she had a fun, fun day.

The next day she woke up, looked in the mirror and noticed that there wasn’t a single hair on her head….

“YEAH!” she exclaimed, “I don’t have to fix my hair today!” ”

Of course, the point of the story was that with a positive attitude nothing is a problem.

And this would have been a very nice story to share with her team, EXCEPT for the fact that one of her team members has Alopecia and is completely bald.

And she was there for the meeting.

Can you imagine?!!!

13 Comments

  1. Raybob said,

    December 17, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Well, it’s only a Bad Thing if the woman with Alopecia is sensitive about it and takes that personally. Why should she take something personally she has no control over?

    TigerYogiji replies: Well, according to my spouse it was very uncomfortable for everyone who was there for the meeting. He wasn’t sure if the woman with alopecia was upset or not, but, I still think that it’s kind of tacky to tell a story like that…

  2. Dr. Sparky said,

    December 17, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Sadly, yes. I can imagine.

  3. javabear said,

    December 17, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    It is rather insensitive to tell that story to a woman with alopecia, unless you know the woman very well and know how she’d react.

  4. Mel said,

    December 17, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    How very much like “The Office”.

  5. Lemuel said,

    December 17, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Unfortunately I have known managers with similar lacks of sensitivities. I think the saddest part is that I suspect the manager had no clue that such a story was inappropriate.

  6. Doug said,

    December 17, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Oh dear. Dear dear dear dear dear. At least it keeps the office interesting!

  7. urspo said,

    December 18, 2008 at 12:04 am

    tactless and insensitive despite what she was trying to do.
    Still it could have been worse viz. it was deliberate.

    BTW – I love your ‘Can you Imagine?” statement. When use it I think of you.

  8. jkb said,

    December 18, 2008 at 3:39 am

    Oh my goodness.

    How cringe-inducing.

  9. Patti said,

    December 18, 2008 at 10:37 am

    Oh dear, I am CRACKING up at that! I know it’s “not” funny – except that it is.
    I am so glad I wasnt’ there. I would have been cutting my eyes at the alopecia girl for sure. Yep, i’m subtle like that.

  10. Ultra Dave said,

    December 18, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    Sadly, I can imagine. Having dealt with the public for over 20 years, I’ve heard my share of similar statements from people who should have known better. There never seems to be an end to stupidity and insensitivity. Their children are usually worse having no decent role model to follow.

  11. Steven said,

    December 18, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    AAACCCKKK!!! Oh, done in poor taste. She obviously doesn’t know her staff too well. 😦

  12. mrpeenee said,

    December 19, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Tag. You’re it, even if you aren’t bald.

    1. Link to the person who tagged you.
    2. Post the rules on your blog.
    3. Write six random things about yourself.
    4. Tag six people at the end of your post and link to them.
    5. Let each person know they’ve been tagged and leave a comment on their blog.
    6. Let the tagger know when your entry is up.

  13. BentonQuest said,

    December 20, 2008 at 10:03 am

    Totally tacky! And I thought having a head of the Psychology Dept. who would say “We was” was bad!


