Some Good News and Some not so Good News

I am slowly on the mend, My Minions.

Although my cough is lingering and I still have some nasal drainage, it is much better than earlier in the week.

In other news my father is back in the hospital (a local one this time, thank goodness!) with yet another infection as a result of his catheter.

Only this time the doctors have finally found the source of these reoccurring infections.

It seems that a hole has formed between the wall of his bladder and the wall of his colon. This was allowing urine to enter his colon (which explains the constant diarrhea that he has been experiencing) and fecal matter to enter his bladder (which explains the constant infections).

His only option at this point is to have a surgical procedure that will shut off that portion of his colon and require him to wear a colostomy bag.

Our main concern now is whether my father is strong enough to survive the procedure. He is almost 81 years old and these last few weeks have really knocked the wind out of his sails.

But he can’t go on the way that he has been living.

His surgery will either be tomorrow or this coming Monday.

I probably won’t be back online until after it’s over, one way or the other.

Keep us in your thoughts for the next few days, okay?

10 Comments

  1. Mel said,

    March 12, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    In India at the moment, so I’ll be sure to make a round of the prayer wheels for him tomorrow.

  2. javabear said,

    March 12, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Oh, dear. I hope everything goes well. Sending positive thoughts your way.

    Hope you continue to improve also.

    ((((((hugs)))))))

  3. Lemuel said,

    March 12, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    You absolutely have all my best thoughts and wishes for your father and for yourself. I share your concern about the colostomy bag, but also the need for resolution to his current condition. May all go extremely well for him!!

  4. Ultra Dave said,

    March 12, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    I hope the best for you both to get through all this!

  5. theportablehobbit said,

    March 12, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    Thinking of you darling. Virtual hugs.

  6. Patti said,

    March 13, 2009 at 7:17 am

    Definitely sending positive healing vibes to you and your dear Father. It’s so hard as they get older isn’t it?

  7. AZ said,

    March 13, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Health and Blessing to you and yours.

  8. Indigo said,

    March 14, 2009 at 9:25 am

    I am really sorry that your father is in such bad shape. If his colon heals, can they discontinue the use of the colostomy bag? I have a friend in a similar situation — she is going to be out of work for two months, but she said her doctors can set her colon back to its normal function after her body sufficiently heals.

    I wish the best for you and your dad.

  9. Indigo said,

    March 14, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Oh… my domain account had some “problems” (it ran out of storage space and crashed). It’s been reinitialized at http://blog.indigohalo.com

    🙂

  10. urspo said,

    March 14, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    if this is any comfort, this is not an unusual matter and most are easily correctable, although it is no fun in the process. So it could have been a lot worse.
    if that is of any comfort

    Certainly I will join the chorus of Minions chanting prayers and karma to him.


