Update on My Father

The doctors have decided to postpone my father’s surgeries until possibly next Monday at this point.

( “Surgeries?” As in “more than one”? Yes. In addition to the colostomy surgery, he will also be having a Suprapubic cystostomy.)

Both surgeries are expected to take about five hours in total, so for the coming week he is being moved back to the rehab hospital that he was previously staying at, in order to build up his strength for the surgeries.

The good news is that his doctor’s are pretty confident about his health and his ability to make it through the surgeries alright.  In fact one doctor was amazed at his heart pumping capicity, which is at 65%. Apparently, this is unheard of in an 80 year old!!

I don’t know how often I’ll be online this week. I’ll keep you posted if anything changes.

And last but not least, I can’t thank you all enough for all the kind words and emails that I have received. They mean so much to me.

TTFN!!

6 Comments

  1. javabear said,

    March 15, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Best of the best for your father. How encouraging that his heart seems to be doing so well. Do what you need to do, dear, and let us know how he is whenever you can.

    (((((((hugs))))))))

  2. Lemuel said,

    March 15, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    Always my best! May the delay in the schedule work even more to his advantage!

  3. Alex said,

    March 15, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    *uncloaking*
    All the best to your father, and may he have an excellent recovery (my Dad had a colostomy too, so I’m with you)! TRY to stay unstressed…do something nice for yourself.

  4. the hobbit said,

    March 15, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Thank you for the update. We’ll take you when we can get you!

  5. urspo said,

    March 15, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    i am certain this will turn out well – I recognize what needs to be done and this is routine stuff.

    TigerYogiji replies: Thank you, Hon!! Coming from such a reliable source as yourself, that puts my mind at ease. 🙂

  6. Patti said,

    March 16, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Glad that your Dad is such a good candidate for surgery. Many aren’t. Wishing him a speedy recovery and you to be back with more tales to tell very soon!


