Good News!!!

Hello Everyone!

Good news!!! My father made it through the surgeries!

They performed a Colostomy and an Ileocystostomy on him.

Both procedures took a total of three hours (much less than we had originally been told to expect.).

After the surgeries, they transferred him to ICU where we able to see him for a short time. 

They had connected him to a breathing tube during the surgery, and kept it in during the night while he was sedated in order to help him breathe.

He had a good night according to the ICU nurse, and my sister was with him this morning when they removed the tube in order to have him breathe on his own. My father was awake and alert for this.

After they removed the tube, my father looked at my sister. He smiled and said to her; “I made it!”

As you can imagine, we are very relieved and very happy, but, we’re not quite out of the woods as yet. The doctors told us that the next couple of days are critical, as they will be closely monitoring my father to make sure that the procedures “took” and that his body won’t reject what they did.

Things are looking promising, but, I would sure appreciate everyone keeping him (and us) in your thoughts and prayers for a few more days.

TTFN!!!

13 Comments

  1. Patti said,

    March 19, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    VERY glad to hear this good news. My eyes got suspiciously moist when I read the part where he said “I made it”! 🙂

  2. theportablehobbit said,

    March 19, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    Honey, holding you up in my thoughts is the least I can do! If there’s *anything* particular you need, let me know STAT.

  3. Lemuel said,

    March 19, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Blessings to your father and to you and your family! May the good news of the surgery continue with healing and renewal of health!

  4. Greg C. said,

    March 19, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Great news! I’m keeping my fingers crossed that everything goes well during the next few days.

  5. Peter said,

    March 19, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    It’s always good to hear this news, I keep him in my prayers just as you and the rest of your family.

  6. javabear said,

    March 19, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    Thank you for this update. What great news! Your family remains on my mind, dear. Good luck with everything.

  7. Urspo said,

    March 19, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    I am very glad.

    Be mindful of ‘ICU psychosis’. After surgery with all the noise, medications and no peace/quiet to sleep well people often get confused and agitated. So if father starts seeing you as Tiamet, don’t swoon 🙂

  8. Indigo said,

    March 22, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    I’m really glad your dad came throuugh the surgery okay 🙂

  9. Miss Janey said,

    March 23, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    great news. Miss J will continue to keep good thoughts for the Tiger and his father.

  10. Coco said,

    March 24, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    Hi,
    Just stopping by to see how you and your family are doing…
    Hopefully, your dad is “up & about” by now ; )
    I sent you an e-mail-
    IF there is anything that I can do for you,
    PLEASE- let me know.
    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your loved ones.

    Coco

  11. Steven said,

    March 25, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Great news to hear about your father since my return! I hope he has made it out of the woods and is now resting at home. 😀

  12. BentonQuest said,

    March 26, 2009 at 11:33 am

    Yeah!!

  13. March 29, 2009 at 3:41 am

    […] photos.   After a colostomy and ileocystostomy, a patient’s daugher (Tiger by the tale) blogs about the aftermath and impending ICU stay. Wish him a speedy […]


