Long Overdue Update

Hello My Minions!

Sorry for the delay in posting much lately. Between my father, this ongoing cold (which FINALLY seems to be going away!) and work, I just haven’t had much time to go online for the past week, never mind forming thoughts to put a coherent post together!

My father is getting better day by day. They started him on solid foods yesterday, and they may transfer him back to the rehab hospital either today or tomorrow to build up his strength yet again.

Once again, I can’t thank everyone enough for their comments and emails. They mean the world to me!

In other news:

We had Tiamat’s 784th 76th birthday celebration this past weekend.

She was as irritating as ever.

Besides her usual screeching, shouting orders and her altogether being just a general pain in the ass, she practically disabled my poor Teddyji by pulling him up on her fat lap by his front paws!!

His yelp of pain had me rushing over to them to see if he was alright. He jumped off of her lap after that and was walking around without any problem, so it is for that reason, and that reason alone that I am not in jail for murder and that her fat, cold, lifeless body isn’t lying in the city morgue!!

Stupid Cow!!!

And the Darling Nephew isn’t exactly “darling” in my eyes right now.

After being told numerous times by myself, his mother and his father not to touch my Steiff tigers, which perch on the back of an overstuffed chair in our spare bedroom, I discovered during the evening that he knocked them off of the chair not once, but TWICE!!!!

I realize that he is only a child, but, after being scolded for doing it the first time, you would think that he would know better than to tempt my wrath again!

Fortunately the tigers weren’t damaged, and I told Husbandji that the next time that he comes over that I am putting the tigers in the Barbie Room, since that room is always shut and locked when his family comes to visit. (He’s out to them as a Gay man, but not as a Barbie collector!).

I know that I’m over-reacting just a tad. It didn’t help matters that I discovered the tigers on the floor right after the Teddyji incident, so I was stilled wired from that, but, these aren’t just toys, and the Darling Nephew has to learn that.

If he asks me where they are the next time he comes over, I’ll tell him that they didn’t like him “manhandling” them, and they went back to India!!

I guess that that’s all for now. Now that my father is on the mend, I hope to have more time to blog. Talk to you all soon!

6 Comments

  1. midnightgardener said,

    March 26, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Hi Tiger. Sorry to hear about your Dad, but glad to hear things are going well for him. Nothing like a parent’s illness to send your head spinning in all kinds of directions…
    and to top that off with hosting the inlaws, well, special HUGS are yours for the taking.

    Sounds like the Tigers and the Barbies, and perhaps poor little Teddyiji, too, should all huddle together behind the safety of a locked door next time. And you know, you shouldn’t really leave them unsupervised…maybe you could hang out with them, as well!

    Hope you’re on the mend!

  2. Lemuel said,

    March 26, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    I am happy to read the update on your father. I hope his progress continues and that he gains strength day by day.

    I have to confess that I giggled at the mention/strikeout of Tiamat’s birthday as well as the fact that Husbandji is out as a gay man but not as a Barbie collector. I will be giggling all afternoon on those two.

    I think you would be wise to put your valued things “up” – out of reach and out of sight whenever anyone visits who does not understand their value to you. It is a pain, but it is better than the pain of seeing your valuable destroyed.

  3. theportablehobbit said,

    March 26, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    You have had enough going on that you are allowed to be a little on edge. I feel that children should either be drunk and passed out or heavily sedated at parties.

  4. Indigo said,

    March 26, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    I’m glad that your father is starting to recover a bit. I’m sorry your poor dog had to put up with the dreaded Tiamat! Aaaiieeee!

  5. Patti said,

    March 27, 2009 at 7:10 am

    Very glad to hear your father is on the mend. You’ve been in my thoughts.

    Snickering at Tiamat’s 704th birthday…. and Teddyji! Anybody with sense knows you do NOT pick a dog up by their paws. Okay, that leaves Tiamat out but still………… I would have been giving her the major stink-eye all evening long.

    You are smart to put the tigers in the Barbie room away from DN. How funny is it that he’s out as a gay man but NOT as a barbie lover? hehe……..

  6. Urspo said,

    March 29, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    I was glad for the posting; and to hear your dad is healing.
    I hope to see you posting more in April.