Update Time

Samurai%20Picture

Hello My Minions!

Things are still crazy around here, so I haven’t had time for my little blog!

My father is still in rehab, but, is starting to make some improvement.

However, the rehab people think that it will be another month before he will be ready to come home. Ack.

Between my sister and myself, we’ve been visiting him almost every single day, and it’s really starting to wear us out, but, what can you do?

Hopefully, things will be back to normal by mid-summer!

In other news, work has been absolutely crazy, and now they have started a cost cutting initiative to review the company’s management structure to see where they can re-organize and “cut the fat” managerially speaking.

Supposedly, we are top-heavy with AVPs and VPs, but I am still very concerned for my “lower management” position. Say a prayer for me, please?

In more interesting “Tiamat” news (and this is what you’ve all been waiting for isn’t it?!!), Tiamat has seen all the lavish attention that my family has been pouring on our father, so now she’s “having trouble walking” because she has arthritis in her knee! What a coincidence!

So Husbandji has been having to stop by her place almost every night to help her with things.

But, this past weekend, when the family had a Memorial Day picnic, she apparently made a miraculous recovery!

We had gone to pick Tiamat up for the picnic since his other brothers are useless, and I was sitting in the car waiting for Husbandji to collect her from her apartment.

I was half expecting her to come limping out of the building, clutching to Husbandji for support, all the while moaning and whining.

Instead, she waddles out under her own power, holding a cane as though she were about to launch into a dance number, ala Fred Astaire!

So, apparently she’s even too stupid to properly fake a limp!

The picnic was uneventful, except to mention that when it came time for dessert, everyone was asked what they would like, as the hostess was serving it up herself.

When it was Tiamat’s turn (and she was not the last one to be asked) she said that she wanted a piece of cake TO TAKE HOME(!) and she wanted some pie to eat there!

CAN YOU IMAGINE?!!!!

What a cow! Why not wait to ask for a piece of cake to take home AFTER everyone else has been served, just to make sure that there will even BE any cake left over?!!!

But, of course, that would never occur to her!

She has been known to ask for “seconds” of something while some people are still waiting to be served for the first time!

Unbelievable…

Of course, the best part about that was that she forgot to take her cake home when we left, and she didn’t remember it until we were almost home!

Poor Tiamat!!! (Ack!)

Well, that’s all the news for now, kids. Talk to you all soon!!

4 Comments

  1. Urspo said,

    May 31, 2009 at 10:04 am

    I always look forward to your updates.
    I hope papa gets well soon; it is a ‘drain’ to visit such a patient, but they are so appreciative of your visits, I am sure.

    Sometimes I wonder if you make things up about Tiamet – she is beyond belief at times! But I know people like this really exist.

    And you are correct, Tiamet news is almost as good as Pet Shop Boy videos!

  2. theportablehobbit said,

    May 31, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Thanks for the update, Tigeryogiji. I’ll keep you in my prayers.

  3. Lemuel said,

    May 31, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    What!? She did not make you turn around right there and go back for the cake? She must be mellowing in her old age. *grin*

    My wishes go out to you for your employment and also for the strength to keep up your care for your father.

  4. Patti said,

    June 2, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Although I understand the “top heavy” in AVPs and VPs (our co. is too definitely) I understand your unease because it’s most often the middle man who takes the brunt 😦

    Oh more Tiamat goodness!!!

    Glad your Dad is still on the mend. You’ve been in my thoughts!


