And, I’m Back

What a week it has been, my minions.

First, I would like to thank everyone for their kind comments, emails and cards. You will never know how much they all meant to me.

Now, back to the story:

Wednesday night we had the wake for my uncle. Surprisingly, very few people came.

I was especially disappointed in how few people from his church showed up, considering that my uncle was one of the pillars of his church (Episcopal) and had even been granted the title of Senior Warden Emeritus prior to his eventual transfer to the Soldier’s Home a few years ago.  I know that my mother was especially disappointed about the low turnout.

Well, at least their core circle of friends did come, and for that I’m grateful.

Of course, I guess that I was hoping for too much to expect Husbandji’s family to give us a fucking break behave appropriately during this trying time.

But, of course, they couldn’t.

I spent the better part of Wednesday morning dealing with their ridiculous bullshit!

In a nutshell: Husbandji’s brother, “M”, was planning on attending my uncle’s wake Wednesday afternoon and was planning on driving Tiamat to it as well.

I had spent half an hour with him on the phone the previous evening giving him detailed instructions on how to get to the funeral home in Easthampton (Because, of course, no one in Husbandji’s family EVER travels out of fucking Springfield!) and everything was all set.

Or so I thought.

Wednesday morning, M calls the house to tell me that he came to the realization overnight that there just wasn’t going to be any way that he would be able to make it to the wake that night because of the time constraints involved.

Apparently, he wouldn’t be getting home from work as a school crossing guard(!) before 5PM because apparently he walks each individual student home to their fucking doors and by the time that he and his idiot wife changed and went to pick up Tiamat and drove to Easthampton, they probably wouldn’t get there on time!

Whatever.

I could tell that he was lieing feeling extremely guilty about this, as he kept repeating this over and over and over, as though he were trying to convince not only me, but, himself as well.

So I told him that he “needed to do whatever worked for him” BUT that he would need to call his other brother “A” that morning to arrange for him to take Tiamat to the wake. I told him this at least four times during the conversation.

Twenty minutes later, Tiamat called.

M had called her and told her that they couldn’t take her and that SHE needed to call A to arrange for a ride!!!!!

So, of course, she was calling Husbandji about it!

She even had THE NERVE to ask me if she could ride up with us!

Or more accurately; “Could I ride with YOUZ???” (I thought that I was talking with Joe Pesci!!!)

To which I replied “No. the FAMILY OF THE DECEASED needs to be there early!!!”

So, Husbandji had to call A and arrange for everything.

And, as it turned out, A and Tiamat were the only two members of Husbandji’s family that showed up.

So, I guess I know where I stand in that family.

At any rate, the service for my uncle on Thursday was very nice. There were tears, but, there was also laughter, celebrating the life of a man who was as dear to me as my own father.

I shall miss them both terribly.

That;’s all for now. Talk to you all soon….

2 Comments

  1. Urspo said,

    December 6, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    1) I am glad it well enough; I’ve been thinking of you
    2) You have a good sense of humor, even in bad times.
    3) It is a perverse comfort to know Tiamet is a constant in a universe of flux and uncertainty.
    4) I am glad to see you posting !

  2. javabear said,

    December 6, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    It is good to see a post from you. I missed the last post, so didn’t know about your uncle passing. I am sorry for your loss. This must be especially difficult for your mother. My thoughts and prayers are with you and the family.


