Thoughts on the New Doctor Who

I’m still on the fence as to whether I’m really enjoying the new Doctor Who.

So far, I’ve only seen the first two episodes, and maybe it’s just that I’m still missing David Tennant in the role, but I’m having some difficulty in really getting into the new direction that they seem to be taking the show.

One reviewer said that it was “somthing old being done in a new way”.  And it definitely has a “retro” feel to it so far. In fact, I really feel that this is how they would have done the show in the 60’s had they had present-day technology to do it with.

I think that Matt Smith is doing a bang-up job in the roll of The Doctor, so it may just be my getting used to this new take on the story.

Although, truth be told, I’m having a hard time believing that Winston Churchill would have the TARDIS’ phone number!

We shall see…

2 Comments

  1. Indigo said,

    April 29, 2010 at 6:23 am

    I’m with you on this one. I think Matt Smith is doing a good job, but it’s a hard change from David Tennant. It’s sort of like how it took some getting used to when Peter Davidson replaced Tom Baker. However, I totally love the new TARDIS design. The quirky analog controls are totally awesome!

  2. Species 125 said,

    May 5, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    I think you’ll enjoy episodes 4 and 5


